Wyoming Board of Architects and Landscape Architects
The 2022 renewal period is closed.
Where to renew?
When to renew?
All licenses expire on December 31, either in odd or even years, depending on when your license was issued. Can't remember your dates? Go to https://architects.wyo.gov/public/lookup and find your information on the "List of Active Licensees".
Licenses are due for renewal every two years following the first renewal.
How to renew?
Complete the paper renewal form mailed to you and return the completed form with your check for $125.
If you are part of the 5% selected for audit, you'll receive this audit notice within your mailed renewal form.
To document completion, attach either your AIA Transcript, LACES Transcript, or copies of certificates of completion evidencing completion of 24 hours of HSW CE. Wyoming ONLY accepts HSW CE.
If your license expires December 31, 2022, your CE must be earned within January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2022.
If your license expires December 31, 2023, your CE must be earned within January 1, 2022 - December 31, 2023.
If you are not selected for audit, you'll simply attest on your renewal that you have completed the required CE.
How much to renew?
The renewal fee is $125. This must be paid via check payable to "State of Wyoming" and mailed with the completed renewal form.
Why is there no online renewal and why are no credit card payments accepted?
We do not currently have an online system in place. Without this, we do not have the ability to process credit card payments.
Late Renewal / Reissuance
The Board's governing statutes do not provide for the late renewal of a license. If you do not renew your license prior to the expiration date, you forfeit your license and are no longer legally eligible to provide architectural or landscape architectural services in the State of Wyoming.
You may, however, apply for reissuance of your expired license within three (3) years of your license expiration date without being required to repeat the licensure examination. After three (3) years you must apply as a new applicant and you may be required to repeat the examination. The reissuance forms can be found on the Forms page.
Retired Status vs License Expiration
Considering retired status or letting your license expire?
Individuals seeking retired status must apply for this designation and on this application, they must attest that they:
Have held a valid license as an architect or landscape architect (as is appropriate) in any jurisdiction for at least ten (10) consecutive years.
Have retired and are not practicing, and will not practice, architecture or landscape architecture (as is appropriate) in any jurisdiction.
Understand the retired license shall expire and be renewable on the same two (2) year cycle as their Wyoming active license.
Understand the Board Rules require that they list their occupation as retired on the board-approved renewal form and certify that they are not currently practicing, and will not practice, architecture or landscape architecture (as is appropriate) in any jurisdiction.
If you cannot attest to each of these 4 items, the Board does not consider you eligible for the Wyoming retired status.
If you do not wish to renew your Wyoming license, or you do not qualify for retired status, you can simply allow your license to expire. Frequent questions we receive regarding license expirations and their answers are as follows:
Q: Is there discipline associated with not renewing?
Q: How do I let my license expire?
A: By doing nothing - just don't renew! Ideally those electing to not renew their Wyoming license will email the Board Office to let us know. You will still get renewal reminder notices as you hold that license until it actually expires.
Q: What if my license expires and I need a Wyoming license again?
A: There is no late renewal option in Wyoming. However, you have three (3) years from the date of your license expiration to seek reissuance of your expired license. This requires a reissuance application, $375 application fee, and 24 hours of HSW CEH earned in the 2 years prior to applying for reissuance. After 3 years, you would apply as if you were new to the state.
Q: Will the Wyoming staff miss me?
A: You betcha! Don't go!